Tags

, , , , ,

As the Liberty lads o’er the sea
Bought their freedom, and cheaply, with blood,
     So we, boys, we
   Will die fighting, or live free,
And down with all kings but King Ludd!

What Byron says is true. King Ludd will return, I think it is inevitable. In this instance, I think of Ludd not as the symbol for willing denial of our tech, but for the unwilling denial; a fall from our computerized world and back into simplicity.

The Luddites, those with the hammers to break the machines, who yearn for the old-fashioned style of living, are a good people. But when they break the machines, the mechanical stilts that hold up the kingdoms we live in, I am not certain how well I will fare under the rule of King Ludd. Is it a lot to say that I think I will be in such a condition in my lifetime? Hard to say, but it is on my mind constantly.

King Ludd is a just king, but perhaps an intolerant one. I am, like the Luddites, sick from all the money and cars of today. But I do not have the constitution, the wit, or maturity to survive under King Ludd. I have been chiseled into a form that best suits the environment I live in, the city or suburb. When I am tossed into the low-tech world of Ned Ludd, what will I do? How can I cope?

 

I am sure I will figure it out if I live to see the day. It is inevitable though, King Ludd will return, and no human on earth can escape him.

